DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Florida / Waters /

Middle River

River in Florida, past Fort Lauderdale

Current status

Caution

Caution applies after a recent discharge, when a report leaves its status unclear, or during a rainfall advisory. The report explains which rule applies. This status since . Why this status, and its source

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Get alerts from City of Fort Lauderdale · Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error

About this status

Caution: a discharge was reported; caution for 72 hours after the reported end (site rule)

Source: Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Public Notice of Pollution) via Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), record 202610996-20…, reported Nov 2, 2026, 8:12 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC · Original notice · Updated

Reports behind this status

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports behind the status of Middle River, newest first
WhenReportStatus
to Nov 22124 NE 5th Avenue · 2124 NE 5 Ave 11-1-2026 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 6, 12:00 AM

Sources: Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), retrieved 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Caution: to the latest update
    1 report: 2124 NE 5th Avenue 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: 2124 NE 5th Avenue 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    2 reports: City of Wilton Manors 2
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    2 reports: City of Wilton Manors 2
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges affecting the Middle River in Florida, last 12 months66 affecting this stretch: 6 reported on the Middle River; none arriving from upstreamDecember 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once. Arriving discharges are estimated from modeled downstream reaches.
  • Days with a discharge affecting the Middle River in Florida, last 12 months5Reported on the Middle River in Florida: 5 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 (counted apart; together they need not equal the total)December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the Middle River in Florida, last 12 months601Reported on the Middle River in Florida: 601 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status on the Middle River in Florida1.1%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
  • Records behind the last-90-days strip for the Middle River in Florida3Reported on the Middle River in Florida: 3 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.

This record covers the Middle River within Florida; the same river upstream is a separate record.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

Reported discharges per month

11 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges per year, 2017 to 2026

19 reported discharges, 2017 to 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • Incomplete source coverage

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 8 reports that gave a volume as a number (11 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage

11 of 19 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2017. The share is of the hours a source covered.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 19, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • fl-dep-pnp: records from May 17, 2017 to the latest update

Reports linked to Middle River

Reports linked to Middle River, newest first
WhenReportStatus
to Nov 22124 NE 5th Avenue · 2124 NE 5 Ave 11-1-2026 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 6, 12:00 AM
to Oct 2City of Wilton Manors · 3 NE 26th Street 10-11-2026 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 2City of Wilton Manors · 2124 NE 5 Ave 10-1-2026 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
Fort Lauderdale · NE 6th CT SSO · SSO · 3,000 gallons report · notice · mapongoing
George T Lohmeyer Regional Wastewater… · 2525 N Federal Hwy, Fort Lauderdale, Fl 33305 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapongoing
George T. Lomeyer Wastewater Treatment Plant · 1930 E Sunrise Blvd · SSO · 300 gallons report · notice · mapongoing
George T. Lomeyer Waste Water Treatment Plant · 2415 N Federal Hwy · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapongoing
City of Wilton Manors · Lift Station #11 Force Main Break · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapongoing
to Feb 15 ’24George T. Lohmeyer Wastewater Treatment Plant · [name removed] QAlert#1162951 · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Dec 21 ’23Allegro Senior Living Center · Manhole overflow at 1290 N Federal Hwy · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
City of Wilton Manors · 2022-06-04 2600 N Andrews Ave · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapongoing
to Jul 27 ’21Link Hotel · Q796179_1055 N Federal Highway · SSO · 750 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jun 7 ’21The Link Hotel · Q771895_1055 N Federal Highway · SSO · 175 gallons report · notice · mapended
to May 17 ’21George T. Lohmeyer Regional WWTF · SSO_2601 NE 21 St_Q767175 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Mar 14 ’20NE 21st Street & Bayview Drive · Q602845_NE 21st Street-Bayview Drive · SSO · 135 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Feb 26 ’20Fort Lauderdale · Q594798_1101 Bayview Drive · SSO · 20.52 million gallons report · notice · mapended
to Feb 6 ’20George English Park · Q586291_1101 Bayview Drive · SSO · 79.32 million gallons report · notice · mapended
to Apr 26 ’18Public ROW · SSO_NW 13 St & NW 7 Ave_Q23059 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Feb 21 ’18Audi Fort Lauderdale · SSO 1200 N Federal Hwy Q297578 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended

Download these reports as CSV

All reports in Florida by year: 2026 (4 here) · 2025 (2 here) · 2024 (3 here) · 2023 (1 here) · 2022 (1 here) · 2021 (3 here) · 2020 (3 here) · 2018 (2 here)

Wastewater outlets on this water

No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.

Sewer operators listed for this water: City of Fort Lauderdale.

Boat launches

Source: OpenBoatLaunch launch records (public agency data and OpenStreetMap, Open Database License). · Middle River on OpenBoatLaunch

Nearby waters

Sources covering this water

19 records linked to this water. Updated .