DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Florida / Sewer operators /

City of Fort Lauderdale

Sewer utility · Florida · Fort Lauderdale

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Small hollow diamonds mark places named in its overflow reports (provisional). Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
not recorded
Wastewater outlets
None in EPA or state outlet records; 22 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations) · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
New River; Tarpon River
Tracked waters
Atlantic Intracoastal Waterway, FL, South Fork New River, FL, New River, FL, Middle River, FL, North Fork New River, FL
Discharge records counted
22 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
20,534,125 gallons across the 9 records that give a volume (13 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

Get alerts from City of Fort Lauderdale

Source: City of Fort Lauderdale's public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

None in EPA or state outlet records; 22 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations).

Places named in overflow reports (provisional)

22 places · 2 not on the map (reports say the sewage reached no water)

Provisional location from overflow reports. Where the operator's own reports put an overflow: a manhole, pump station or plant. Not an outfall listed in a permit.

  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Mar 17, 2019 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 18, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 1, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Sep 23, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Aug 22, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jun 1, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Apr 12, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Apr 3, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Mar 10, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jan 21, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Sep 17, 2025 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Sep 2, 2025 · confidence medium · no water record yet

Showing 12 of 22.

Source: the operator's own overflow reports to the state. DirtyWaterWatch groups reports within 50 metres into one place and finds the water below it with U.S. Geological Survey river maps (NLDI, NHDPlus). Not a permitted outfall; provisional until an official outfall record exists.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.

Reports linked to City of Fort Lauderdale, newest first
WhenReportStatus
Water not mapped · SSO at 1301 West Lake Drive · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapongoing
Water not mapped · SSO GTL abnormal event 100126 · Bypass · volume not reported report · notice · mapongoing
Atlantic Intracoastal Waterway · Bayview Dr & E Oakland Park Blvd · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapongoing
to Aug 22South Fork New River · SSO-Cw23347 · SSO · 2,525 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jun 1New River · SSO-Scf21855663 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Apr 12Water not mapped · Hendricks Isle & E Las Olas Blvd · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Apr 3Atlantic Intracoastal Waterway · Granada St SSO · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Mar 10Water not mapped · Cordova Rd & SE 15th St · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
Middle River · NE 6th CT SSO · SSO · 3,000 gallons report · notice · mapongoing
to Sep 17 ’25Atlantic Intracoastal Waterway · NE 19 St SSO · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Sep 2 ’25New River · SSO - Isle of Capri Dr & Mola Ave · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Mar 15 ’25Water not mapped · ~5640 N Federal Hwy - broken ARV · SSO · 750 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Mar 3 ’24Water not mapped · SSO - 315 NW 1st Ave · SSO · 890 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Dec 1 ’23Water not mapped · 1642 SE 10th Street_Q1142097 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 2 ’23Water not mapped · SSO - manhole overflow at E Lake Dr/River Lane · SSO · 2,460 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Feb 8 ’21Water not mapped · Q# [phone removed] SE 2nd Street · SSO · 2,500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Aug 7 ’20Water not mapped · SSO_5711 NE 14th Ave_Q653691 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Jun 29 ’20North Fork New River · 471 NW 24th Avenue Q639215 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Feb 26 ’20Middle River · Q594798_1101 Bayview Drive · SSO · 20.52 million gallons report · notice · mapended
to Mar 18 ’19New River · SSO_SW 6 St & SW 4 Ave_Q450156 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Mar 18 ’19New River · SSO_SW 6 St & SW 4 Ave_Q450156 · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Mar 15 ’19Atlantic Intracoastal Waterway · SSO_3270 NE 32 St_Q449847 · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jan 24 ’18Water not mapped · SSO - 1765 Eisenhower Blvd - Q286930 · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended

Sources: Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), retrieved 2026-11-05 06:08 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

All reports in Florida by year: 2026 (9 from City of Fort Lauderdale) · 2025 (3 from City of Fort Lauderdale) · 2024 (1 from City of Fort Lauderdale) · 2023 (2 from City of Fort Lauderdale) · 2021 (1 from City of Fort Lauderdale) · 2020 (3 from City of Fort Lauderdale) · 2019 (3 from City of Fort Lauderdale) · 2018 (1 from City of Fort Lauderdale)

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • End not confirmed: to
    1 report: Atlantic Intracoastal Waterway 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • End not confirmed: to
    1 report: Atlantic Intracoastal Waterway 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Atlantic Intracoastal Waterway 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: South Fork New River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: South Fork New River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by City of Fort Lauderdale, last 12 months9December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by City of Fort Lauderdale, last 12 months9December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from City of Fort Lauderdale's reports, last 12 months792December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (City of Fort Lauderdale)13%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

15 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges per year, 2017 to 2026

22 reported discharges, 2017 to 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • Incomplete source coverage

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 9 reports that gave a volume as a number (13 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage

13 of 22 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage

Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2017. The share is of the hours a source covered. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 22, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • fl-dep-pnp: records from May 17, 2017 to the latest update