DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Florida / Waters /

Ortega River

River in Florida, past Jacksonville

Current status

No current status shown

No current status is assigned to this water outline. Check the water page for reports and any estimated downstream stretches. Why this status, and its source

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Get alerts from JEA (Jacksonville) · Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error

About this status

No current status shown: no report we track sets a status on this water now; how statuses work. No status does not mean the water is safe. Follow posted signs and local health advice.

Sources checked: Florida DEP Algal Bloom Sampling, blooms and toxins by site (last successful check 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC); Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service) (last successful check 2026-11-05 01:06 UTC). Status by DirtyWaterWatch, updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC. · Updated

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.

No discharge, advisory or caution periods are shown for this water in this time span. Check downstream stretches and source coverage.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges affecting the Ortega River in Florida, last 12 months0December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once. Arriving discharges are estimated from modeled downstream reaches.
  • Days with a discharge affecting the Ortega River in Florida, last 12 months0December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the Ortega River in Florida, last 12 months0December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status on the Ortega River in Florida0.0%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
  • Records behind the last-90-days strip for the Ortega River in Florida0last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

Reported discharges per month

13 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges per year, 2017 to 2026

26 reported discharges, 2017 to 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • Incomplete source coverage

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 12 reports that gave a volume as a number (14 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage

14 of 26 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2017. The share is of the hours a source covered.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 25, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • fl-dep-pnp: records from May 17, 2017 to the latest update

Reports linked to Ortega River

26 sewage reports · 4 algal bloom advisories

Cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) can make water unfit for contact; the issuing authority decides when its advisory ends.

Reports linked to Ortega River, newest first
WhenReportStatus
to Oct 23 ’247897 Blanding Blvd · 7897 Blanding Blvd · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Sep 28 ’245572 Oak Crossing Dr · 5572 Oak Crossing Dr · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 1 ’24, 12:50 PMFlorida Department of Environmental Protection (Algal Bloom Sampling) · Ortega River - Seminole Park · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · maplifted
to Sep 21 ’245026 Long Bow Rd · 5026 Long Bow Rd · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Sep 16 ’24, 11:35 AMFlorida Department of Environmental Protection (Algal Bloom Sampling) · Ortega River - Seminole Park · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · maplifted
to Aug 23 ’24Bagpipe Ln and Macdougall Dr · Bagpipe Ln and Macdougall Dr · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Jul 26 ’247756 Club Duclay Dr · 7756 Club Duclay Dr · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Mar 7 ’246262 Townsend Rd · 6262 Townsend Road · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Mar 4 ’247673 Blanding Blvd · 7673 Blanding Blvd · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Dec 20 ’23Southwest WRF · 8404 Maple St. · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Dec 17 ’238560 Fury Dr · 8560 Fury Dr. · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Algal Bloom Sampling) · Ortega River - Imperial Cove Rd · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · mapreported
to Jun 16 ’237703 Blanding Blvd · 7703 Blanding Blvd · SSO · 12,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Apr 3 ’235004 Ortega Farms Blvd · 5004 Ortega Farms Blvd · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Sep 6 ’22Ortega Farms Blvd and Timuquana Rd · Ortega Farms Blvd and Timuquana Rd · SSO · 200 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 12 ’22, 10:30 AMFlorida Department of Environmental Protection (Algal Bloom Sampling) · Ortega River - Morven Canal · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · maplifted
to Jul 1 ’227721 Blanding Blvd · 7721 Blanding Blvd · SSO · 650 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Nov 8 ’21City of Jacksonville · McGirts Park Campground · SSO · 2,500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Oct 3 ’217100 Cypres Cove Road · 7100 Cypres Cove Road · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Aug 2 ’218560 Fury Dr · 8560 Fury Dr · SSO · 10,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jun 16 ’21Falcon St W and Lancia St N · Falcon St W and Lancia St N · SSO · 150 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Feb 24 ’217784 Blanding Blvd · 7784 Blanding Blvd · SSO · 8,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Oct 15 ’208546 English Oak Dr · 8546 English Oak Dr · SSO · 5,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jun 8 ’20JEA · 5104 118th St · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Aug 21 ’195620 Collins Rd · 5620 Collins Rd · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended

Sources: Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), retrieved 2026-11-04 09:03 UTC; Florida DEP Algal Bloom Sampling, blooms and toxins by site, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 30 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in Florida by year: 2024 (9 here) · 2023 (5 here) · 2022 (3 here) · 2021 (5 here) · 2020 (2 here) · 2019 (3 here) · 2018 (2 here) · 2017 (1 here)

Wastewater outlets on this water

No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.

Sewer operators listed for this water: JEA (Jacksonville).

Boat launches

Source: OpenBoatLaunch launch records (public agency data and OpenStreetMap, Open Database License). · Ortega River on OpenBoatLaunch

Nearby waters

Sources covering this water

30 records linked to this water: 26 sewage reports, 4 algal bloom advisories. Updated .