DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Florida / Sewer operators /

JEA (Jacksonville)

Sewer utility · Florida · Jacksonville, Fruit Cove, Yulee, Ponte Vedra Beach

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Small hollow diamonds mark places named in its overflow reports (provisional). Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
FL0026000, FL0026441, FL0026450, FL0026468, FL0023493, FL0023604, FL0023663, FL0023671, FL0043591, FL0116793, FL0117951, FL0174441, FL0A00023, FL0620564
Wastewater outlets
25 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 98 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations) · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
St. Johns River
Tracked waters
Big Davis Creek, FL, Cunningham Creek, FL, Fishing Creek, FL, Lofton Creek, FL, Saint Johns River, FL, Saint Johns River, FL, New Rose Creek, FL, Pottsburg Creek, FL, Sixmile Creek, FL, Craig Creek, FL, Silversmith Creek, FL, Bennett Branch, FL, McCoys Creek, FL, Cormorant Branch, FL, Wills Branch, FL, Long Branch, FL, Ginhouse Creek, FL, Brandy Branch, FL, Williamson Creek, FL, Ribault River, FL, Strawberry Creek, FL, Ortega River, FL, Julington Creek, FL, Jones Creek, FL, Miller Creek, FL, Goodbys Creek, FL, Little Cedar Creek, FL, Lake Bethesda, FL, Little Pottsburg Creek, FL, Flora Branch, FL
Discharge records counted
108 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
1,968,650 gallons across the 56 records that give a volume (52 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

Get alerts from JEA (Jacksonville)

Pages where JEA (Jacksonville) or the state publishes its notices:

Its public-notice channels

Source: JEA (Jacksonville)'s public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records; DirtyWaterWatch register of public-notice channels and its page monitor.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

25 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 98 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations).

Treatment plant outfalls

25 outfalls

Showing 12 of 25.

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.

Places named in overflow reports (provisional)

98 places

Provisional location from overflow reports. Where the operator's own reports put an overflow: a manhole, pump station or plant. Not an outfall listed in a permit.

  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Sep 24, 2024 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Oct 2, 2018 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Oct 2, 2018 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Nov 2, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 30, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 14, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 9, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 8, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 7, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 3, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Sep 22, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Aug 27, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet

Showing 12 of 98.

Source: the operator's own overflow reports to the state. DirtyWaterWatch groups reports within 50 metres into one place and finds the water below it with U.S. Geological Survey river maps (NLDI, NHDPlus). Not a permitted outfall; provisional until an official outfall record exists.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.

Reports linked to JEA (Jacksonville), newest first
WhenReportStatus
to Nov 2New Rose Creek · 2450 Patsy Anne Dr · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 6, 12:00 AM
to Oct 31Pottsburg Creek · 2239 Lou Dr W · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 15Saint Johns River · 245 Lige Branch Ln · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 9Sixmile Creek · 11001 Pritchard Rd · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 9Saint Johns River · 7932 Southside Blvd · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 8Craig Creek · 3120 Emerson St · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 5Silversmith Creek · 204 Century 21 Dr · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Sep 23Saint Johns River · Intersection of Pearl St and 1st St W · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Aug 27Bennett Branch · 3354 Kegler Dr · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Aug 17Saint Johns River · 1245 Reclamation Dr · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Jul 6Saint Johns River · 7621 Centurion Pkwy N · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Jun 3McCoys Creek · 1089 Day Ave · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Mar 25Saint Johns River · 1102 Mc Conihe St · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Mar 3Saint Johns River · 1840 Cedar Bay Rd · Bypass · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Feb 12“Sweetwater Creek” · 13208 Moby Dick Dr W · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
Water not mapped · Bearing Point Lane · Report · volume not reported report · notice · mapreported
to Dec 9 ’25Craig Creek · 1350 Philips Hwy · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Aug 6 ’25Saint Johns River · NVUC Reuse Line Break · SSO · 15,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Feb 20 ’25Cormorant Branch · 12397 San Jose Blvd · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Sep 26 ’24Saint Johns River · 3754 University Club Blvd · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Jul 26 ’24Wills Branch · 7777 Normandy Blvd · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Jul 24 ’24Saint Johns River · 1555 Millcoe Rd · Bypass · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Mar 10 ’24“Bigelow Creek” · 2221 Buckman St · Bypass · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Dec 6 ’23Long Branch · Buffalo Ave. and Evergreen Ave. · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Dec 6 ’23Saint Johns River · 1511 Zoo Parkway · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended

Sources: Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), retrieved 2026-11-05 06:08 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 109 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in Florida by year: 2026 (16 from JEA (Jacksonville)) · 2025 (3 from JEA (Jacksonville)) · 2024 (4 from JEA (Jacksonville)) · 2023 (8 from JEA (Jacksonville)) · 2022 (3 from JEA (Jacksonville)) · 2021 (5 from JEA (Jacksonville)) · 2020 (7 from JEA (Jacksonville)) · 2019 (12 from JEA (Jacksonville)) · 2018 (19 from JEA (Jacksonville)) · 2017 (32 from JEA (Jacksonville))

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Caution: to the latest update
    2 reports: New Rose Creek 1, Pottsburg Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: New Rose Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Pottsburg Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Pottsburg Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Saint Johns River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Saint Johns River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    3 reports: Craig Creek 1, Saint Johns River 1, Sixmile Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    3 reports: Craig Creek 1, Saint Johns River 1, Sixmile Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Silversmith Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Silversmith Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

6 earlier periods appear as you scroll.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by JEA (Jacksonville), last 12 months17December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by JEA (Jacksonville), last 12 months20December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from JEA (Jacksonville)'s reports, last 12 months576December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (JEA (Jacksonville))10%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

34 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

1 discharge report has no end time and is not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules it shows caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and adds no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges per year, 2017 to 2026

108 reported discharges, 2017 to 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • Incomplete source coverage

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 56 reports that gave a volume as a number (52 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage

52 of 108 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage

1 discharge report has no end time and is not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules it shows caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and adds no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2017. The share is of the hours a source covered. 1 discharge report has no end time and is not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules it shows caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and adds no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 106, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • fl-dep-pnp: records from May 17, 2017 to the latest update