Saint Johns River
River in Florida, past Jacksonville
Current status
No current status is assigned to this water outline. Check the water page for reports and any estimated downstream stretches. Why this status, and its source
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
Larger round markers with a label mark beach and other official advisories nearby.
Get alerts from AWMS LLC MAYPORT NAVAL STATION WWTF · Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error
About this status
No current status shown: no report we track sets a status on this water now; how statuses work. No status does not mean the water is safe. Follow posted signs and local health advice.
Sources checked: a public source (last successful check 2026-11-05 06:08 UTC); a public source (last successful check 2026-11-05 06:08 UTC); Florida DEP Algal Bloom Sampling, blooms and toxins by site (last successful check 2026-11-05 06:08 UTC); Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service) (last successful check 2026-11-05 06:09 UTC). Status by DirtyWaterWatch, updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC. · Updated
The last 90 days
- Caution: to 1 report: JEA 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: JEA 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 1 report: JEA 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: JEA 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 1 report: JEA 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: JEA 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
- Discharges affecting the Saint Johns River in Florida, last 12 months77 affecting this stretch: 7 reported on the Saint Johns River; none arriving from upstreamDecember 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once. Arriving discharges are estimated from modeled downstream reaches.
- Days with a discharge affecting the Saint Johns River in Florida, last 12 months17Reported on the Saint Johns River in Florida: 17 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 (counted apart; together they need not equal the total)December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
- Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the Saint Johns River in Florida, last 12 months528Reported on the Saint Johns River in Florida: 528 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
- 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status on the Saint Johns River in Florida5.4%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
- Records behind the last-90-days strip for the Saint Johns River in Florida3Reported on the Saint Johns River in Florida: 3 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Reported discharges per month
17 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Counted from | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2023 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2023 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2023 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| September 2023 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | Source records | |
| August 2024 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| September 2024 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| October 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2024 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2025 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | Source records | |
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| March 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| May 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| June 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| August 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| September 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2026 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | Source records | |
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month
Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.
- Discharge or advisory reported
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Hours from post-discharge periods | Hours in the month | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2023 | 48 | 48 | 744 | |
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2023 | 24 | 24 | 720 | |
| May 2023 | 24 | 24 | 744 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2023 | 48 | 48 | 744 | |
| September 2023 | 48 | 48 | 720 | |
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 696 | |
| March 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2024 | 24 | 24 | 744 | |
| August 2024 | 24 | 24 | 744 | |
| September 2024 | 24 | 24 | 720 | |
| October 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2024 | 24 | 24 | 720 | |
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2025 | 48 | 48 | 744 | |
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2026 | 48 | 48 | 672 | |
| March 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2026 | 240 | 240 | 720 | |
| May 2026 | 24 | 24 | 744 | |
| June 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2026 | 24 | 24 | 744 | |
| August 2026 | 96 | 96 | 744 | |
| September 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2026 | 96 | 96 | 744 | |
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 99 |
Days with a reported discharge per month
A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Days with a reported discharge | Coverage |
|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | |
| February 2022 | 0 | |
| March 2022 | 0 | |
| April 2022 | 0 | |
| May 2022 | 0 | |
| June 2022 | 0 | |
| July 2022 | 0 | |
| August 2022 | 0 | |
| September 2022 | 0 | |
| October 2022 | 0 | |
| November 2022 | 0 | |
| December 2022 | 0 | |
| January 2023 | 1 | |
| February 2023 | 0 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | |
| April 2023 | 1 | |
| May 2023 | 0 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | |
| July 2023 | 0 | |
| August 2023 | 1 | |
| September 2023 | 1 | |
| October 2023 | 0 | |
| November 2023 | 0 | |
| December 2023 | 0 | |
| January 2024 | 0 | |
| February 2024 | 0 | |
| March 2024 | 0 | |
| April 2024 | 0 | |
| May 2024 | 0 | |
| June 2024 | 0 | |
| July 2024 | 1 | |
| August 2024 | 1 | |
| September 2024 | 1 | |
| October 2024 | 0 | |
| November 2024 | 1 | |
| December 2024 | 0 | |
| January 2025 | 0 | |
| February 2025 | 0 | |
| March 2025 | 0 | |
| April 2025 | 0 | |
| May 2025 | 0 | |
| June 2025 | 0 | |
| July 2025 | 0 | |
| August 2025 | 2 | |
| September 2025 | 0 | |
| October 2025 | 0 | |
| November 2025 | 0 | |
| December 2025 | 0 | |
| January 2026 | 0 | |
| February 2026 | 1 | |
| March 2026 | 0 | |
| April 2026 | 9 | |
| May 2026 | 1 | |
| June 2026 | 0 | |
| July 2026 | 1 | |
| August 2026 | 3 | |
| September 2026 | 0 | |
| October 2026 | 2 | |
| November 2026 | 0 |
Reported discharges per year, 2017 to 2026
35 reported discharges, 2017 to 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
- Incomplete source coverage
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 5 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2018 | 0 | 6 | 1 | 7 | |
| 2019 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | |
| 2020 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | |
| 2021 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3 | |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2023 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 4 | |
| 2024 | 0 | 3 | 1 | 4 | |
| 2025 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | |
| 2026 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 7 |
Reported volume per year
Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 19 reports that gave a volume as a number (16 did not).
- Incomplete source coverage
16 of 35 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Reported volume, gallons | Reports with a volume | Reports without a volume | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | 364,550 | 3 | 2 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2018 | 9,210 | 5 | 2 | |
| 2019 | 100 | 1 | 0 | |
| 2020 | 1,050 | 2 | 0 | |
| 2021 | 13,000 | 3 | 0 | |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2023 | 22,700 | 4 | 0 | |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 | 4 | |
| 2025 | 15,000 | 1 | 1 | |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 | 7 |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year
Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- Incomplete source coverage
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Share of the year | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | 168 | 1.9% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2018 | 168 | 1.9% | |
| 2019 | 24 | 0.3% | |
| 2020 | 48 | 0.5% | |
| 2021 | 96 | 1.1% | |
| 2022 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2023 | 192 | 2.2% | |
| 2024 | 96 | 1.1% | |
| 2025 | 48 | 0.5% | |
| 2026 | 528 | 7.1% |
Reported discharges by calendar month, all years
Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.
Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Reported discharges | Years of records |
|---|---|---|
| January | 2 | 9 |
| February | 1 | 9 |
| March | 2 | 9 |
| April | 2 | 9 |
| May | 1 | 10 |
| June | 2 | 10 |
| July | 4 | 10 |
| August | 8 | 10 |
| September | 3 | 10 |
| October | 6 | 10 |
| November | 1 | 10 |
| December | 3 | 9 |
Reported discharges by wastewater outlet
Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 34, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.
Show table
| Wastewater outlet | Sewer operator | Reported discharges |
|---|---|---|
| 3023 Merlin Dr N | 3023 Merlin Dr N | 2 |
| 245 Lige Branch Ln | Blacksford | 1 |
| 7932 Southside Blvd | Arlington East WRF | 1 |
| 1245 Reclamation Dr | 1245 Reclamation Dr | 1 |
| 7621 Centurion Pkwy N | Arlington East WRF | 1 |
| 9955 Merlin Dr E | Mandarin WRF | 1 |
| 7070 Salamanca Ave | Arlington East | 1 |
| 1721 University Blvd N | Monterey WRF | 1 |
| SSO | Normandy Village Utility Co-op WWTF | 1 |
| NVUC Reuse Line Break | Normandy Village Utility Co-op WWTF | 1 |
| Other outlets (24) | 24 |
How these charts are counted
We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records: records from May 3, 2022 to the latest update (limited records)
- fl-dep-pnp: records from May 17, 2017 to the latest update
Reports linked to Saint Johns River
35 sewage reports · 7 algal bloom advisories
Cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) can make water unfit for contact; the issuing authority decides when its advisory ends.
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| to Oct 15 | JEA · 245 Lige Branch Ln · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 9 | JEA · 7932 Southside Blvd · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Algal Bloom Sampling) · St. Johns River - Colee Cove · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | listed | |
| to Aug 17 | JEA · 1245 Reclamation Dr · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jul 6 | JEA · 7621 Centurion Pkwy N · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Algal Bloom Sampling) · St. Johns River - Florence Cove · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | reported | |
| Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Algal Bloom Sampling) · St. Johns River - Riverfront Park · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | reported | |
| to May 19 | Mandarin WRF · 9955 Merlin Dr E · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 23 | Arlington East · 7070 Salamanca Ave · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Feb 16 | Monterey WRF · 1721 University Blvd N · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Aug 24 ’25 | Normandy Village Utility Co-op WWTF · SSO · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Algal Bloom Sampling) · St. Johns River - East of NAS JAX · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | reported | |
| to Aug 6 ’25 | JEA · NVUC Reuse Line Break · SSO · 15,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Nov 12 ’24 | 9735 Sharing Cross Ct · 9735 Sharing Cross Ct · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 20 ’24 | 3023 Merlin Dr N · 3023 Merlin Dr N · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Algal Bloom Sampling) · St. Johns River - Stockton Park · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | reported | |
| to Aug 23 ’24 | 3023 Merlin Dr N · 3023 Merlin Dr N · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jul 24 ’24 | JEA · 1555 Millcoe Rd · Bypass · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 7 ’23 | JEA · Corner of Western Way and Western Way Cir · SSO · 3,500 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Aug 10 ’23 | JEA · Baymeadows Cir W and Baymeadows Rd · SSO · 18,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to May 1 ’23 | 11265 Beacon Dr · 11265 Beacon Dr · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jan 10 ’23 | 5327 Los Santos Way · 5327 Los Santos Way · SSO · 200 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Algal Bloom Sampling) · St. Johns River - St Vincent's Riverside · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | reported | |
| Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Algal Bloom Sampling) · St. Johns River - mouth of Trout Creek · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | reported | |
| to Mar 21 ’21 | JEA · 7639 Hilsdale Rd · SSO · 100 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
Sources: Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), retrieved 2026-11-05 06:08 UTC; Florida DEP Algal Bloom Sampling, blooms and toxins by site, retrieved 2026-11-05 06:08 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
Showing the latest 25 records of 43 records.See them all with filters.
All reports in Florida by year: 2026 (10 here) · 2025 (3 here) · 2024 (5 here) · 2023 (4 here) · 2022 (2 here) · 2021 (3 here) · 2020 (2 here) · 2019 (1 here) · 2018 (8 here) · 2017 (5 here)
Wastewater outlets on this water
No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.
Sewer operators listed for this water: AWMS LLC MAYPORT NAVAL STATION WWTF, JEA (Jacksonville).
Boat launches
No public boat launch is listed in our records for this water.
Nearby waters
- Flora Branch, FL No current status shown about 1 km away
- Oldfield Creek, FL No current status shown about 2 km away
- Julington Creek, FL No current status shown about 3 km away
- Cormorant Branch, FL No current status shown about 4 km away
- Cunningham Creek, FL No current status shown about 4 km away
Sources covering this water
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 06:08 UTC
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 06:08 UTC
- Florida DEP Algal Bloom Sampling, blooms and toxins by site · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 06:08 UTC
- Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service) · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 06:09 UTC
42 records linked to this water: 35 sewage reports, 7 algal bloom advisories, besides 1 earlier version or duplicate. Updated .