City of Crisfield
Sewer utility · Maryland · Crisfield
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
No outlet locations are in our records for this operator. Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.
- Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
- MD0020001
- Wastewater outlets
- None with locations in our records
- Waters listed as receiving wastewater
- Tangier Sound; Daugherty Creek; Little Annemessex River
- Tracked waters
- Tangier Sound, MD, Little Annemessex River, MD, Manokin River, MD
- Discharge records counted
- 37 records · latest
- Total reported volume in these records
- 617,610 gallons across the 31 records that give a volume (6 without one)
These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.
Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-03 08:50 UTC.
Public notices and alerts
Pages where City of Crisfield or the state publishes its notices (check them for an alert sign-up):
Source: City of Crisfield's public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records.
Report a missing notice or error
Wastewater outlets
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Reports and advisories
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| to 12:15 PM | Little Annemessex River · 104 N 7th Street · SSO · 450,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| Water not mapped · 104 N 7th St · Bypass · 1,000 gallons report · notice | reported | |
| to 3:00 PM | “Ditch” · 104 N 7th St · SSO · 30,000 gallons report · notice | ended |
| to 1:00 PM | “The event was not called in. An email was received on August 4 at 3:22 PM, stating the cause, and a gallon estimate. This inspector called the cleanup company who stated they were called to pump the sewage from a ditch along the road.” · 283 S Somerset Avenue · SSO · 1,080 gallons in all | ended |
| to 1:00 PM | “The event was not called in. An email was received on August 4 at 3:22 PM, stating the cause, and a gallon estimate. This inspector called the cleanup company who stated they were called to pump the sewage from a ditch along the road.” · 283 S Somerset Avenue · SSO · 270 gallons report · notice | ended |
| to 4:00 PM | Tangier Sound · 199 S Somerset Avenue · SSO · 810 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jul 27, 1:00 PM | “Little Annammessex” · 116 N Somerset Ave · SSO · 5,760 gallons report · notice | ended |
| to Jul 24, 12:00 PM | Tangier Sound · 13 & 15 N Somerset Ave · SSO · 28,800 gallons in all map | ended |
| to Jul 24, 12:00 PM | Tangier Sound · 13 & 15 N Somerset Ave · SSO · 11,520 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jul 24, 12:00 PM | “Little Ammemsesex, which is shellfish” · 110, 117, 124 Hall Hwy · SSO · 17,280 gallons report · notice | ended |
| to 5:15 PM | Little Annemessex River · 115 South 7th Street · SSO · 10 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Nov 3 ’25, 11:26 AM | “Daugherty Creek, use II” · 24 Potomac St · SSO · 6,760 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 9:20 PM | Little Annemessex River · 104 N Seventh St · Bypass · 200 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Nov 2 ’25, 11:26 AM | “None.” · 116 N Somerset Ave · SSO · 12,960 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 2:00 PM | Tangier Sound · 116 N Somerset Ave. · SSO · 200 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jul 11 ’25, 7:00 AM | Tangier Sound · 111 2nd St · SSO · 3,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 3:00 PM | “Daugherty Creek” · SSO · volume in each report | ended |
| to 3:00 PM | “Daugherty Creek” · SSO · volume not reported report · notice | ended |
| to 3:00 PM | “Daugherty Creek” · 24 Potomac St · SSO · volume not reported report · notice | ended |
| to Jul 11 ’25, 11:59 AM | “Daugherty Creek” · 22 Potomac St · SSO · volume not reported report · notice | ended |
| to Jul 11 ’25, 9:00 AM | “Daugherty Creek” · 15 North Somerset Ave · SSO · 480 gallons report · notice | ended |
| to Jun 23 ’25, 4:00 AM | Tangier Sound · 219 S Somerset Ave · SSO · 4,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 12 ’25, 11:00 AM | “Big Annemessek River via a drainage ditch” · 104 N. 7th Street · Bypass · 10,000 gallons report · notice | ended |
| to Apr 12 ’25, 4:00 AM | Little Annemessex River · 104 N 7th Street · SSO · 10,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 25 ’24, 3:08 PM | Tangier Sound · 235 Broadway · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 24 ’24, 8:26 AM | Tangier Sound · N 4th St · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 25 ’24, 10:00 AM | “Little Assemessex River” · Intersection of Wynfall and Hall Hwy · SSO · 36,300 gallons in all | ended |
| to Sep 25 ’24, 10:00 AM | “Little Assemessex River” · Intersection of Wynfall and Hall Hwy · SSO · 3,000 gallons report · notice | ended |
| to Sep 27 ’24, 9:00 AM | “Little Assemessex River” · 22 and 24 Potomac Street · SSO · 20,000 gallons report · notice | ended |
| to Sep 26 ’24, 9:30 AM | Little Annemessex River · 116 and 15 North Somerset Ave. · SSO · 13,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 8:35 AM | Manokin River · 104 North 7th Street · SSO · 300 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
Sources: MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), retrieved 2026-11-03 08:17 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
Showing the latest 27 records of 37 records.See them all with filters.
All reports in Maryland by year: 2026 (9 from City of Crisfield) · 2025 (12 from City of Crisfield) · 2024 (15 from City of Crisfield) · 2023 (1 from City of Crisfield)
Other sewer operators on these waters
- Little Annemessex River, MD: Somerset County Sanitary District
- Manokin River, MD: Somerset County Sanitary District
The last 90 days
- Caution: to 1 report: Little Annemessex River 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Little Annemessex River 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 1 report: Tangier Sound 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 08:50 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
- Discharges reported by City of Crisfield, last 12 months9December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
- Days with a discharge reported by City of Crisfield, last 12 months11December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it. Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
- Hours with a discharge or advisory status from City of Crisfield's reports, last 12 months143December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
- 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (City of Crisfield)3.2%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Reported discharges per month
37 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
- No tracked source for this period
- Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2022.
Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Counted from | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2023 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2024 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 6 | Source records | |
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2024 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | Source records | |
| June 2024 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2024 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 6 | Source records | |
| October 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2025 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 2 | Source records | |
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2025 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| July 2025 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 6 | Source records | |
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2025 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 3 | Source records | |
| November 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| May 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2026 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3 | Source records | |
| August 2026 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | Source records | |
| September 2026 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 3 | Source records | |
| October 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month
Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- No tracked source for this period
- Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2022. 1 discharge report has no end time and is not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules it shows caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and adds no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.
Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Hours from post-discharge periods | Hours in the month | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 672 | No tracked source for this period |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | No tracked source for this period |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | No tracked source for this period |
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | No tracked source for this period |
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | No tracked source for this period |
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2023 | 14 | 14 | 744 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 696 | |
| March 2024 | 150 | 150 | 744 | |
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2024 | 13 | 13 | 744 | |
| June 2024 | 1 | 1 | 720 | |
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2024 | 97 | 97 | 720 | |
| October 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2025 | 23 | 23 | 720 | |
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2025 | 7 | 7 | 720 | |
| July 2025 | 32 | 32 | 744 | |
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2025 | 30 | 30 | 744 | |
| November 2025 | 60 | 60 | 720 | |
| December 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2026 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2026 | 2 | 2 | 720 | |
| May 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2026 | 121 | 121 | 744 | |
| August 2026 | 6 | 6 | 744 | |
| September 2026 | 14 | 14 | 720 | |
| October 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 53 |
Days with a reported discharge per month
A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.
- No tracked source for this period
- Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2022.
Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Days with a reported discharge | Coverage |
|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| February 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| March 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| April 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| May 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| June 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| July 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| August 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| September 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| October 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| November 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| December 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| January 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2023 | 0 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | |
| May 2023 | 1 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | |
| July 2023 | 0 | |
| August 2023 | 0 | |
| September 2023 | 0 | |
| October 2023 | 0 | |
| November 2023 | 0 | |
| December 2023 | 0 | |
| January 2024 | 0 | |
| February 2024 | 0 | |
| March 2024 | 9 | |
| April 2024 | 0 | |
| May 2024 | 2 | |
| June 2024 | 1 | |
| July 2024 | 0 | |
| August 2024 | 0 | |
| September 2024 | 5 | |
| October 2024 | 0 | |
| November 2024 | 0 | |
| December 2024 | 0 | |
| January 2025 | 0 | |
| February 2025 | 0 | |
| March 2025 | 0 | |
| April 2025 | 2 | |
| May 2025 | 0 | |
| June 2025 | 2 | |
| July 2025 | 2 | |
| August 2025 | 0 | |
| September 2025 | 0 | |
| October 2025 | 2 | |
| November 2025 | 3 | |
| December 2025 | 0 | |
| January 2026 | 0 | |
| February 2026 | 0 | |
| March 2026 | 0 | |
| April 2026 | 1 | |
| May 2026 | 0 | |
| June 2026 | 0 | |
| July 2026 | 6 | |
| August 2026 | 1 | |
| September 2026 | 3 | |
| October 2026 | 0 | |
| November 2026 | 0 |
Reported volume per year
Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 31 reports that gave a volume as a number (6 did not).
- Incomplete source coverage
6 of 37 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.
Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Reported volume, gallons | Reports with a volume | Reports without a volume | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 600 | 1 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2024 | 52,760 | 12 | 3 | |
| 2025 | 47,600 | 9 | 3 | |
| 2026 | 516,650 | 9 | 0 |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year
Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- Incomplete source coverage
1 discharge report has no end time and is not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules it shows caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and adds no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.
Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Share of the year | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 14 | 0.2% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2024 | 260 | 3.0% | |
| 2025 | 152 | 1.7% | |
| 2026 | 143 | 1.9% |
Reported discharges by calendar month, all years
Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.
Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.
Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Reported discharges | Years of records |
|---|---|---|
| January | 0 | 4 |
| February | 0 | 4 |
| March | 6 | 4 |
| April | 3 | 4 |
| May | 3 | 4 |
| June | 2 | 4 |
| July | 9 | 4 |
| August | 2 | 4 |
| September | 9 | 4 |
| October | 3 | 4 |
| November | 0 | 4 |
| December | 0 | 3 |
Reported discharges by wastewater outlet
Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 29, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.
Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Wastewater outlet | Reported discharges |
|---|---|
| 104 N 7th St | 3 |
| 104 N 7th Street | 2 |
| 116 N Somerset Ave | 2 |
| 24 Potomac St | 2 |
| 104 North 7th Street | 2 |
| Potomac St | 2 |
| 283 S Somerset Avenue | 1 |
| 199 S Somerset Avenue | 1 |
| 13 & 15 N Somerset Ave | 1 |
| 110, 117, 124 Hall Hwy | 1 |
| Other outlets (19) | 19 |
| Outlet not stated | 1 |
How these charts are counted
We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.
- md-mde-overflows: records from January 4, 2023 to the latest update