DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Georgia / Waters /

Peavine Creek

Stream in Georgia, past Atlanta, Decatur, Druid Hills and North Druid Hills

Current status

End not confirmed

A discharge was reported, and we have not found an end time in the sources we track. This status since . Why this status, and its source

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Check DeKalb County Department of Watershed Management (Snapfinger Creek AWWTF and Pole Bridge)'s notices · Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error

About this status

End not confirmed: dated to the day only, no end time reported; shown as unconfirmed after 72 hours of caution from the start of that day, to day 30 (site rule)

Source: Georgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD) via Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD, record ga0024147-20…, published Nov 2, 2026, 12:00 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:06 UTC · Original notice · Updated

Reports behind this status

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports behind the status of Peavine Creek, newest first
WhenReportStatus
DeKalb County Watershed Management · 1735 Lowergate Drive Northeast Atlanta, Georgia 30307 · SSO · 1,577 gallons report · notice · mapto Nov 28, 11:00 PM

Sources: Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:06 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • End not confirmed: to the latest update
    1 report: DeKalb County Watershed Management 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: DeKalb County Watershed Management 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    2 reports: DeKalb County Watershed Management 2
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: DeKalb County Watershed Management 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: DeKalb County Watershed Management 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: DeKalb County Watershed Management 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    2 reports: DeKalb County Watershed Management 2
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: DeKalb County Watershed Management 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: DeKalb County Watershed Management 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: DeKalb County Watershed Management 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

2 earlier periods appear as you scroll.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges affecting the Peavine Creek in Georgia, last 12 months1010 affecting this stretch: 10 reported on the Peavine Creek; none arriving from upstreamDecember 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once. Arriving discharges are estimated from modeled downstream reaches.
  • Days with a discharge affecting the Peavine Creek in Georgia, last 12 months10Reported on the Peavine Creek in Georgia: 10 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 (counted apart; together they need not equal the total)December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the Peavine Creek in Georgia, last 12 months191Reported on the Peavine Creek in Georgia: 191 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status on the Peavine Creek in Georgia3.8%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
  • Records behind the last-90-days strip for the Peavine Creek in Georgia6Reported on the Peavine Creek in Georgia: 6 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

Reported discharges per month

11 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022. 2 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 11 reports that gave a volume as a number.

  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

2 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2025. The share is of the hours a source covered. 2 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 6 of 6, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records: records from May 3, 2022 to the latest update (limited records)
  • ga-epd-spills: records from September 9, 2025 to the latest update

Reports linked to Peavine Creek

Reports linked to Peavine Creek, newest first
WhenReportStatus
DeKalb County Watershed Management · 1735 Lowergate Drive Northeast Atlanta, Georgia 30307 · SSO · 1,577 gallons report · notice · mapto Nov 28, 11:00 PM
to 9:00 AMDeKalb County Watershed Management · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Aug 27DeKalb County Watershed Management · 2001 Ridgewood Drive Northeast Atlanta, Georgia 30034 · SSO · 350 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 11:45 AMDeKalb County Watershed Management · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Aug 25DeKalb County Watershed Management · 1735 Lowergate Drive Northeast Atlanta, Georgia 30307 · SSO · 350 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 12:45 PMDeKalb County Watershed Management · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Aug 16DeKalb County Watershed Management · 446 Clairemont Avenue Decatur, Georgia 30030 · SSO · 900 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 11:15 AMDeKalb County Watershed Management · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Aug 14DeKalb County Watershed Management · 1735 Lowergate Drive Northeast Atlanta, Georgia 30307 · SSO · 655 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 7:33 PMDeKalb County Watershed Management · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Aug 11DeKalb County Watershed Management · 446 Clairemont Avenue Decatur, Georgia 30030 · SSO · 2,075 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 3:35 PMDeKalb County Watershed Management · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Jun 22DeKalb County Watershed Management · 1200 Oxford Road Northeast Atlanta, Georgia 30306 · SSO · 120 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 12:04 PMDeKalb County Watershed Management · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to May 14DeKalb County Watershed Management · 1815 South Ponce De Leon Avenue Northeast Atlanta, Georgia 30307 · SSO · 985 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 10:40 PMDeKalb County Watershed Management · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Mar 8DeKalb County Watershed Management · 1815 South Ponce De Leon Avenue Northeast Atlanta, Georgia 30307 · SSO · 2,820 gallons report · notice · mapended
DeKalb County Watershed Management · 1287 Oakdale Road Northeast Atlanta, Georgia 30307 · SSO · 200 gallons report · notice · mapreported
to 9:40 PMDeKalb County Watershed Management · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 17 ’25DeKalb County Watershed Management · 446 Clairemont Avenue Decatur, Georgia 30030 · SSO · 1,960 gallons report · notice · mapended

Sources: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators), retrieved 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC.

Download these reports as CSV

All reports in Georgia by year: 2026 (17 here) · 2025 (3 here)

Wastewater outlets on this water

No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.

Sewer operators listed for this water: DeKalb County Department of Watershed Management (Snapfinger Creek AWWTF and Pole Bridge).

Boat launches

No public boat launch is listed in our records for this water.

Nearby waters

Sources covering this water

11 records linked to this water, besides 9 earlier versions or duplicates. Updated .