DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Maryland / Sewer operators /

Worcester County Department of Public Works

Sewer utility · Maryland · Ocean Pines, West Ocean City

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

No outlet locations are in our records for this operator. Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
not recorded
Wastewater outlets
None with locations in our records
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
An estimated 500 gallons went into the ditch in front of 1210 Ocean Parkway; NA. spilled on gravel area, pumper truck called; ditch; Estimated 100gal of sewer went into the ditch between 1210-1212 Ocean Pkwy. NO impact on any water ways; Manklin Creek (Use II); Puddling along the curb
Tracked waters
Isle of Wight Bay, MD, Manklin Creek, MD
Discharge records counted
33 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
269,810 gallons across the 24 records that give a volume (9 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-03 08:50 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

Pages where Worcester County Department of Public Works or the state publishes its notices (check them for an alert sign-up):

Source: Worcester County Department of Public Works's public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.

Reports linked to Worcester County Department of Public Works, newest first
WhenReportStatus
to Jan 29, 9:50 PM“none” · 1000 Shore Lane · SSO · 100,000 gallons report · noticeended
to 9:45 AMIsle of Wight Bay · 1198 Ocean Parkway · SSO · 200 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 10:15 AM“An estimated 500 gallons went into the ditch in front of 1210 Ocean Parkway.” · 1210 Ocean Parkway · SSO · 500 gallons report · noticeended
to 8:30 AM“none” · 1058 Ocean Parkway · SSO · 3,000 gallons report · noticeended
to 10:00 AM“NA. spilled on gravel area, pumper truck called” · 11224 Dale Rd · SSO (earlier version) · 400 gallons report · noticeended
to 7:15 AM“ground” · 1126 Ocean Parkway · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · noticeended
to Mar 1 ’25, 2:00 AM“ditch” · 1222 Ocean Parkway · SSO · 400 gallons report · noticeended
to 6:20 PM“Estimated 100gal of sewer went into the ditch between 1210-1212 Ocean Pkwy. NO impact on any water ways” · 1210 Ocean Parkway · SSO · 100 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Feb 13 ’25, 5:30 AMWater not mapped · 11515 River Run Lane · SSO · 1,500 gallons report · noticeended
to 1:30 PMManklin Creek · 903 Ocean Pkwy · SSO · 1,200 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 12:30 PM“Puddling along the curb” · 12345 Hidden Bay Dr · SSO · 150 gallons report · noticeended
to 4:30 PMWater not mapped · 12345 Hidden Bay Dr · Bypass · 51,200 gallons report · noticeended
to 10:00 AM“none” · 11820 Gum Point Rd · SSO · 50 gallons report · noticeended
to Dec 9 ’24, 8:30 AM“n/a, bypass to Ocean City WWTP” · 9624 Stephen Decatur Hwy · Bypass · volume not reported report · noticeended
to Oct 29 ’24, 9:00 AM“none” · 312 Maple Ave · SSO · 3,400 gallons report · noticeended
to Oct 30 ’24, 9:30 AM“Ocean City WWTP” · 9624 Stephen Decatur Hwy · Bypass · volume not reported report · noticeended
to 12:05 PM“N/A” · 39 Coastal Dr · SSO · 50 gallons report · noticeended
to Sep 2 ’24, 9:00 AM“none - bypassing straight to Ocean City WWTP” · 9624 Stephen Decatur Hwy · Bypass · volume not reported report · noticeended
to Jul 5 ’24, 10:00 AMWater not mapped · 9624 Stephen Decatur Hwy · Bypass · 90,000 gallons report · noticeended
to 11:37 AM“Maklin Creek” · 1204 Ocean Parkway · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · noticeended
to 8:10 AM“none” · 1130 Ocean Parkway · SSO · 500 gallons report · noticeended
to 10:00 AM“ditch (5 gals went in)” · 5022 Joyner Rd · SSO · 500 gallons report · noticeended
to 11:28 AM“none” · 312 Maple Ave · SSO · 6,000 gallons report · noticeended
to Mar 25 ’24, 9:00 AM“Hudson Branch to Inlet Bays” · 312 Maple Ave · SSO · 6,000 gallons report · noticeended
to Mar 10 ’24, 9:30 AM“none” · 9624 Stephen Decatur Hwy · Bypass · volume not reported report · noticeended

Sources: MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), retrieved 2026-11-03 08:17 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 34 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in Maryland by year: 2026 (2 from Worcester County Department of Public Works) · 2025 (11 from Worcester County Department of Public Works) · 2024 (13 from Worcester County Department of Public Works) · 2023 (8 from Worcester County Department of Public Works)

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.

No discharge, advisory or caution periods are shown for the waters this sewer operator's reports were placed on in this time span. Check downstream stretches and source coverage.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 08:50 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by Worcester County Department of Public Works, last 12 months3December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by Worcester County Department of Public Works, last 12 months4December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it. Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from Worcester County Department of Public Works's reports, last 12 months32December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (Worcester County Department of Public Works)0.0%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

Reported discharges per month

33 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source

No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2022.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source

No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2022. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source

No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2022.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 24 reports that gave a volume as a number (9 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

9 of 33 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 20, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • md-mde-overflows: records from January 4, 2023 to the latest update