DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Georgia / Waters /

Flint River

River in Georgia, past Albany, Bainbridge, Cordele, Fort Valley, Francisville, Lamar, Molena, Montezuma, Newton, Philema, River Bend and Salem

Current status

Discharge possible: heavy rain, no report received

Radar shows that recent rain at a combined sewer system's outlets has reached the amount set for that system, and its operator has not reported a discharge. It reads "discharge likely" where the amount is the one at which that system has discharged before, or a rain trigger its state publishes, and "discharge possible" where only this site's default of 0.1 inch applies. This is an estimate, not a report. This status since . Why this status, and its source

This badge describes the water outline. Check the downstream stretches on the map and below for discharge statuses.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch. Dashed river stretches are estimates.

Check ALBANY, CITY OF (JOSHUA STREET WPCP)'s notices · Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error

About this status

Discharge possible: heavy rain, no report received: heavy rain at a sewer operator's outlets reached this site's default amount, and no report received; shown for 48 hours after the rain (site rule). 4.3 in of rain fell in the 24 hours to Nov 4, 2026, 7:00 PM EST at City of Albany (combined sewer system)'s outfalls (NOAA radar estimate).

Source: NOAA National Weather Service, MRMS radar-only rainfall estimate, valid Nov 4, 2026, 7:00 PM EST, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:19 UTC; threshold: site default; rule: How it works, discharge likely or possible. · Updated

Estimated downstream stretches on Flint River

none from a report; 9 routes below outlets with a status

No stretch below a reported discharge has a current status here as of Nov 4, 2026, 8:25 PM EST. The routes below wastewater outlets carry the status shown on each.

Estimated routes below wastewater outlets

9 routes below outlets
  • Caution Permit GA0036854, outlet 001 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
  • Caution Permit GA0036854, outlet 003 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
  • Caution Permit GA0036854, outlet 004 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
  • Caution Permit GA0036854, outlet 005 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
  • Caution Permit GA0036854, outlet 006 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
  • Caution Permit GA0036854, outlet 011 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
  • Caution Permit GA0036854, outlet 014 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
  • Caution Permit GA0036854, outlet 015 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
  • Caution Permit GA0036854, outlet SYS · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit

Source: DirtyWaterWatch estimates using U.S. Geological Survey river maps and flow measurements. The estimate stops at tidal water, the first lake or the distance limit.

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Discharge likely or possible: heavy rain, no report received: to the latest update
    Radar estimate, no report received: heavy rain at the outlets of Albany Utilities

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges affecting the Flint River in Georgia, last 12 months77 affecting this stretch: 7 reported on the Flint River; none arriving from upstreamDecember 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once. Arriving discharges are estimated from modeled downstream reaches.
  • Days with a discharge affecting the Flint River in Georgia, last 12 months11Reported on the Flint River in Georgia: 11 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 (counted apart; together they need not equal the total)December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the Flint River in Georgia, last 12 months216Reported on the Flint River in Georgia: 216 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status on the Flint River in Georgia0.5%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
  • Records behind the last-90-days strip for the Flint River in Georgia1Reported on the Flint River in Georgia: 0 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 · Other records (rain-likely and similar): 1last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.

This record covers the Flint River within Georgia; the same river upstream is a separate record.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

Reported discharges per month

11 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022. 6 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 10 reports that gave a volume as a number (1 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

1 of 11 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

6 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2025. The share is of the hours a source covered. 6 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 9 of 9, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records: records from May 3, 2022 to the latest update (limited records)
  • ga-epd-spills: records from September 9, 2025 to the latest update

Reports linked to Flint River

Reports linked to Flint River, newest first
WhenReportStatus
to 11:48 AMCLAYTON COUNTY WATER AUTHORITY · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
International Paper Co. · 2449 Stagecoach Road Oglethorpe, Georgia 31068 · SSO · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapreported
to 4:50 PMCLAYTON COUNTY WATER AUTHORITY · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to May 18Clayton County Water Authority · 360 Brittan Trail Jonesboro, Georgia 30236 · SSO · 5,640 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Apr 30, 12:00 PMAlbany Utilities · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Apr 30Albany Utilities · 1501 Cromartie Beach Drive Albany, Georgia 31705 · SSO · 3,500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 9:53 AMCLAYTON COUNTY WATER AUTHORITY · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Mar 27Clayton County Water Authority · 240 Flint Rd. Riverdale, Georgia 30238 · SSO · 4,400 gallons report · notice · mapended
Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International… · 7700 Spine Road College Park, Georgia 30337 · SSO · 150 gallons report · notice · mapreported
Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International… · 7700 Spine Road College Park, Georgia 30337 · SSO (earlier version) · 150 gallons report · notice · mapreported
Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International… · 7700 Spine Road College Park, Georgia 30337 · SSO · 100 gallons report · notice · mapreported
to Dec 31 ’25, 8:00 AMALBANY, CITY OF · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Dec 31 ’25Albany, City of · College Drive Albany, Georgia 31705 · SSO · 5,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International… · 7700 Spine Road College Park, Georgia 30337 · SSO · 750 gallons report · notice · mapreported
to 6:44 PMCLAYTON COUNTY WATER AUTHORITY · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 30 ’25Clayton County Water Authority · 190 Brookview Drive Riverdale, Georgia 30274 · SSO · 5,220 gallons report · notice · mapended
Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International… · 7700 Spine Road College Park, Georgia 30337 · SSO · 250 gallons report · notice · mapreported
Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International… · North Terminal Parkway College Park, Georgia 30337 · SSO · 75 gallons report · notice · mapreported

Sources: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators), retrieved 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC; Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD, retrieved 2026-11-04 08:30 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

All reports in Georgia by year: 2026 (10 here) · 2025 (8 here)

Wastewater outlets on this water

No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.

Sewer operators listed for this water: ALBANY, CITY OF (JOSHUA STREET WPCP), BACONTON, CITY OF (BACONTON WPCP), BAINBRIDGE, CITY OF (BAINBRIDGE WPCP), City of Albany (combined sewer system), CLAYTON COUNTY WATER AUTHORITY (W.B. CASEY WRF & HUIE CONSTRUCTED WETLANDS), DECATUR COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS (INDUSTRIAL AIRPARK WPCP), MONTEZUMA, CITY OF (SPRING CREEK WRF), OGLETHORPE, CITY OF (OGLETHORPE WPCP).

Boat launches

Source: OpenBoatLaunch launch records (public agency data and OpenStreetMap, Open Database License). · Flint River on OpenBoatLaunch

Nearby waters

Sources covering this water

11 records linked to this water, besides 7 earlier versions or duplicates. Updated .