DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Maryland / Sewer operators /

Garrett County Sanitary District

Sewer utility · Maryland · Oakland, McHenry

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

No outlet locations are in our records for this operator. Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
MD0021083
Wastewater outlets
None with locations in our records
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
Youghiogheny River
Tracked waters
Youghiogheny River, MD, Deep Creek Lake, MD, Little Youghiogheny River, MD, North Branch Potomac River, MD
Discharge records counted
18 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
1,117,228 gallons across the 16 records that give a volume (2 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-03 08:50 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

Pages where Garrett County Sanitary District or the state publishes its notices (check them for an alert sign-up):

Source: Garrett County Sanitary District's public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

Reports and advisories

Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports linked to Garrett County Sanitary District, newest first
WhenReportStatus
to 1:35 PM“Bypass was contained to the WWTP around the #2 Digestor and did not enter ditches, stormwater structures and conveyances or other "waters of the State".” · 762 Mayhew Inn Road · Bypass · 500 gallons report · noticeended
to 8:00 AM“Side ditch within the WWTP only. Wastewaters did not reach waters of the State.” · 762 Mayhew Inn Road · Bypass · 6,000 gallons report · noticeended
to 10:30 AM“Discharge was limited to the ground and side ditch of the WWTP. None of the wastewater entered "waters of the State".” · 762 Mayhew Inn Road · SSO · 300 gallons report · noticeended
to 8:30 PM“Groundwater via of saturation.” · Lake Shore Drive & Gallatin Woods · SSO · volume not reported report · noticeended
to 9:00 AM“Bypass was limited to the ground around the WWTP Septic Receiving Station(Former Oxidation Ditch) and did not enter ditches, stormwater structures, or waters of the State.” · 762 Mayhew Inn Road · Bypass · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to May 29, 11:59 PMLittle Youghiogheny River · 1156 Norris Welsh Road · Bypass · 100,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to May 28, 6:00 AMYoughiogheny River · 849 First Avenue · Bypass · 500,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 12:30 PM“No waterway exposure” · Intersection Lake Shore Drive and MD Rout 219 · SSO · 50 gallons report · noticeended
to 6:35 PMDeep Creek Lake · 270 Mosser Road · SSO · 0 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 3:00 PM“The overflow was contained to the immediate address and did not enter "waters of the State". The County DPW responded with a vacuum truck and removed the wasewaters.” · 619 Hotel Road · SSO · 100 gallons report · notice · mapended
Youghiogheny River · 237 West Ashley-Ellis Road · Bypass · 2,880 gallons report · notice · mapreported
to May 14 ’25, 11:00 AMNorth Branch Potomac River · 121 Owens Avenue · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
Youghiogheny River · 237 West Ashby-Ellis Road · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapreported
to 2:00 PMYoughiogheny River · 237 West Ashby-Ellis Road · SSO · 4,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 4:00 PM“Side ditch of right away.” · 762 Mayhew Inn Road · SSO · 48 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 5:00 PM“Casselman River @ Grantsville, Maryland” · 7593 National Pike · SSO · 500,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 9:45 AM“N/A” · 762 Mayhew Inn Road · SSO · 350 gallons report · noticeended
to 2:00 PM“N/A” · 762 Mayhew Inn Road · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended

Sources: MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), retrieved 2026-11-03 08:17 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

All reports in Maryland by year: 2026 (7 from Garrett County Sanitary District) · 2025 (6 from Garrett County Sanitary District) · 2024 (3 from Garrett County Sanitary District) · 2023 (2 from Garrett County Sanitary District)

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.

No discharge, advisory or caution periods are shown for the waters this sewer operator's reports were placed on in this time span. Check downstream stretches and source coverage.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 08:50 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by Garrett County Sanitary District, last 12 months7December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by Garrett County Sanitary District, last 12 months7December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it. Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from Garrett County Sanitary District's reports, last 12 months63December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (Garrett County Sanitary District)1.4%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

Reported discharges per month

18 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source

No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2022.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source

No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2022. 2 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source

No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2022.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 16 reports that gave a volume as a number (2 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

2 of 18 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

2 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

2 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 11, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • md-mde-overflows: records from January 4, 2023 to the latest update