Maryland Environmental Service (state-run plants)
Wastewater treatment plant · Maryland · various
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
No outlet locations are in our records for this operator. Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.
- Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
- MD0023868, MD0023922
- Wastewater outlets
- None with locations in our records
- Waters listed as receiving wastewater
- Dorsey Run; Wapti Creek
- Tracked waters
- Dorsey Run, MD, Antietam Creek, MD, Rocky Gap Run, MD, Lake Habeeb, MD, Little Beaver Creek, MD, North Branch Potomac River, MD, Greenbrier Lake, MD
- Discharge records counted
- 30 records · latest
- Total reported volume in these records
- 5,127,465 gallons across the 29 records that give a volume (1 without one)
These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.
Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-03 08:50 UTC.
Public notices and alerts
Pages where Maryland Environmental Service (state-run plants) or the state publishes its notices (check them for an alert sign-up):
Source: Maryland Environmental Service (state-run plants)'s public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records.
Report a missing notice or error
Wastewater outlets
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Reports and advisories
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| to 11:40 AM | “Wapti Creek” · 4395 Turkey Point Road Elkneck Park · SSO · 500 gallons report · notice | ended |
| to Jul 11, 11:30 AM | Dorsey Run · 7938 Rockbridge Rd · Bypass · 320,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 1:30 PM | “N/A” · 13699 Hanover Pike · SSO · 500 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:40 AM | Antietam Creek · 18901 Roxbury Road · SSO · 750 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:00 PM | “Open field east of the institution.” · Roxbury Correctional Institution · SSO · 200,000 gallons report · notice | ended |
| to Apr 2, 9:30 AM | “none” · 7938 Brock Bridge Rd · Bypass · 600,000 gallons report · notice | ended |
| to 10:45 AM | Rocky Gap Run · 16401 Gorge Road, NE · SSO · 15 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Mar 17, 12:30 PM | “none” · 7938 Brock Bridge Rd · Bypass · 750,000 gallons report · notice | ended |
| to 6:30 PM | “None.” · 11175 Point Lookout Rd · SSO · 2,500 gallons report · notice | ended |
| to 10:30 AM | “SSO was containd within the WWTP” · SSO · 900 gallons report · notice | ended |
| to 9:40 PM | “middle of solar panel field” · MCI - Solar Field Block #3 · SSO · 240,000 gallons report · notice | ended |
| to Nov 12 ’25, 8:30 AM | Dorsey Run · 7938 Brock Bridge Rd · Bypass · 1 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 8:30 PM | Lake Habeeb · 16401 Gorge · SSO · 100 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to May 17 ’25, 11:30 AM | “Friends Creek” · 17131 Bentzel Road · Bypass · 145,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to May 15 ’25, 1:00 PM | Little Beaver Creek · 21843 National Pike · Bypass · 59,100 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to May 14 ’25, 10:00 AM | North Branch Potomac River · 376 McAndrews Hill Road · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 1:28 PM | “N/A” · 18901 Roxbury Road · SSO · 8,800 gallons report · notice | ended |
| to 8:15 AM | “An estimated 3,000 gallons of sewage overflowed the EQ Basin at the WWTP and pooled on the surrounding asphalt and concrete.” · 29449 Charlotte Hall RD · SSO · 3,000 gallons report · notice | ended |
| to Jun 22 ’24, 10:00 AM | “none” · 7938 Brock Bridge Road · Bypass · 1.21 million gallons report · notice | ended |
| to Jun 19 ’24, 1:00 PM | “Storm Water Retention Pond” · 29449 Charlotte Hall Rd · SSO · 90,000 gallons report · notice | ended |
| to 2:45 PM | Antietam Creek · 18901 Roxbury Road · SSO · 275,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Mar 10 ’24, 4:00 AM | Little Beaver Creek · 21843 National Pike · Bypass · 11,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 2:00 PM | “None.” · 1301 Raincliffe Rd · SSO · 500 gallons report · notice | ended |
| to 7:30 PM | “N/A” · 18701 Roxbury Road · SSO · 124,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Feb 15 ’24, 8:00 AM | “Unknown.” · 1520 Crownsville Rd · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
Sources: MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), retrieved 2026-11-03 08:17 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
Showing the latest 25 records of 30 records.See them all with filters.
All reports in Maryland by year: 2026 (10 from Maryland Environmental Service (state-run plants)) · 2025 (8 from Maryland Environmental Service (state-run plants)) · 2024 (8 from Maryland Environmental Service (state-run plants)) · 2023 (4 from Maryland Environmental Service (state-run plants))
Other sewer operators on these waters
- Antietam Creek, MD: City of Hagerstown (WWTP and collection), Washington County Department of Water Quality
- North Branch Potomac River, MD: Allegany County Department of Public Works (CSO collection system and North Branch / Georges Creek sewers), City of Frostburg (combined sewer system), LaVale Sanitary Commission (combined sewer overflows), Maryland Water Service Utilities (Allegany County), Mayor and City Council of Cumberland (Water Reclamation Facility and combined sewer system), Town of Westernport (former CSO permit), Garrett County Sanitary District
The last 90 days
No discharge, advisory or caution periods are shown for the waters this sewer operator's reports were placed on in this time span. Check downstream stretches and source coverage.
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 08:50 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
- Discharges reported by Maryland Environmental Service (state-run plants), last 12 months11December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
- Days with a discharge reported by Maryland Environmental Service (state-run plants), last 12 months14December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it. Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
- Hours with a discharge or advisory status from Maryland Environmental Service (state-run plants)'s reports, last 12 months79December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
- 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (Maryland Environmental Service (state-run plants))0.4%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Reported discharges per month
30 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
- No tracked source for this period
- Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2022.
Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Counted from | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 2 | Source records | |
| August 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2023 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| October 2023 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | Source records | |
| February 2024 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | Source records | |
| March 2024 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 2 | Source records | |
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2024 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| June 2024 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 2 | Source records | |
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2025 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| April 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2025 | 0 | 2 | 2 | 4 | Source records | |
| June 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2025 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2025 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | Source records | |
| December 2025 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2026 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | Source records | |
| March 2026 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 2 | Source records | |
| April 2026 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 2 | Source records | |
| May 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| June 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| July 2026 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | Source records | |
| August 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month
Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- No tracked source for this period
- Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2022. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.
Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Hours from post-discharge periods | Hours in the month | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 672 | No tracked source for this period |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | No tracked source for this period |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | No tracked source for this period |
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | No tracked source for this period |
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | No tracked source for this period |
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2023 | 33 | 33 | 744 | |
| August 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2023 | 18 | 18 | 720 | |
| October 2023 | 1 | 1 | 744 | |
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2024 | 7 | 7 | 744 | |
| February 2024 | 38 | 38 | 696 | |
| March 2024 | 9 | 9 | 744 | |
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2024 | 7 | 7 | 744 | |
| June 2024 | 120 | 120 | 720 | |
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2025 | 8 | 8 | 744 | |
| April 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2025 | 101 | 101 | 744 | |
| June 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2025 | 2 | 2 | 744 | |
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2025 | 21 | 21 | 720 | |
| December 2025 | 15 | 15 | 744 | |
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2026 | 2 | 2 | 672 | |
| March 2026 | 15 | 15 | 744 | |
| April 2026 | 28 | 28 | 720 | |
| May 2026 | 1 | 1 | 744 | |
| June 2026 | 2 | 2 | 720 | |
| July 2026 | 16 | 16 | 744 | |
| August 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2026 | 1 | 1 | 744 | |
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 53 |
Days with a reported discharge per month
A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.
- No tracked source for this period
- Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2022.
Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Days with a reported discharge | Coverage |
|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| February 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| March 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| April 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| May 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| June 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| July 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| August 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| September 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| October 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| November 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| December 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| January 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2023 | 0 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | |
| May 2023 | 0 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | |
| July 2023 | 3 | |
| August 2023 | 0 | |
| September 2023 | 2 | |
| October 2023 | 1 | |
| November 2023 | 0 | |
| December 2023 | 0 | |
| January 2024 | 2 | |
| February 2024 | 3 | |
| March 2024 | 3 | |
| April 2024 | 0 | |
| May 2024 | 1 | |
| June 2024 | 6 | |
| July 2024 | 0 | |
| August 2024 | 0 | |
| September 2024 | 0 | |
| October 2024 | 0 | |
| November 2024 | 0 | |
| December 2024 | 0 | |
| January 2025 | 0 | |
| February 2025 | 0 | |
| March 2025 | 1 | |
| April 2025 | 0 | |
| May 2025 | 6 | |
| June 2025 | 0 | |
| July 2025 | 1 | |
| August 2025 | 0 | |
| September 2025 | 0 | |
| October 2025 | 0 | |
| November 2025 | 2 | |
| December 2025 | 1 | |
| January 2026 | 0 | |
| February 2026 | 2 | |
| March 2026 | 3 | |
| April 2026 | 3 | |
| May 2026 | 1 | |
| June 2026 | 1 | |
| July 2026 | 2 | |
| August 2026 | 0 | |
| September 2026 | 0 | |
| October 2026 | 1 | |
| November 2026 | 0 |
Reported volume per year
Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 29 reports that gave a volume as a number (1 did not).
- Incomplete source coverage
1 of 30 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.
Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Reported volume, gallons | Reports with a volume | Reports without a volume | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 48,600 | 4 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2024 | 1,746,700 | 7 | 1 | |
| 2025 | 1,457,000 | 8 | 0 | |
| 2026 | 1,875,165 | 10 | 0 |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year
Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- Incomplete source coverage
Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.
Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Share of the year | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 52 | 0.6% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2024 | 181 | 2.1% | |
| 2025 | 146 | 1.7% | |
| 2026 | 64 | 0.9% |
Reported discharges by calendar month, all years
Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.
Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.
Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Reported discharges | Years of records |
|---|---|---|
| January | 1 | 4 |
| February | 4 | 4 |
| March | 5 | 4 |
| April | 2 | 4 |
| May | 6 | 4 |
| June | 3 | 4 |
| July | 4 | 4 |
| August | 0 | 4 |
| September | 1 | 4 |
| October | 2 | 4 |
| November | 1 | 4 |
| December | 1 | 3 |
Reported discharges by wastewater outlet
Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 20, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.
Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Wastewater outlet | Reported discharges |
|---|---|
| 21843 National Pike | 5 |
| 18901 Roxbury Road | 3 |
| 7938 Brock Bridge Rd | 3 |
| 29449 Charlotte Hall RD | 2 |
| 4395 Turkey Point Road Elkneck Park | 1 |
| 7938 Rockbridge Rd | 1 |
| 13699 Hanover Pike | 1 |
| Roxbury Correctional Institution | 1 |
| 16401 Gorge Road, NE | 1 |
| 11175 Point Lookout Rd | 1 |
| Other outlets (10) | 10 |
| Outlet not stated | 1 |
How these charts are counted
We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.
- md-mde-overflows: records from January 4, 2023 to the latest update