DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Maryland / Sewer operators /

Harford County Department of Public Works (Sod Run WWTP)

Wastewater treatment plant · Maryland · Bel Air, Abingdon, Edgewood, Joppatowne

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

No outlet locations are in our records for this operator. Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
MD0056545
Wastewater outlets
None with locations in our records
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
Bush River; Bynum Run
Tracked waters
Bush River, MD, Church Creek, MD, Bynum Run, MD, Little Gunpowder Falls, MD
Discharge records counted
28 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
3,604,170 gallons across the 26 records that give a volume (2 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-03 08:50 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

Pages where Harford County Department of Public Works (Sod Run WWTP) or the state publishes its notices (check them for an alert sign-up):

Source: Harford County Department of Public Works (Sod Run WWTP)'s public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

Reports and advisories

Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports linked to Harford County Department of Public Works (Sod Run WWTP), newest first
WhenReportStatus
to 6:39 PMBush River · 1212 Chelsea Road · Bypass · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Sep 27, 8:30 PMBush River · 1212 Chelsea Road · Bypass · 10,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jul 30, 2:30 AM“Trib to Binam Run” · 404 Sunnyview Road · SSO · 500,000 gallons report · noticeended
to 8:45 AM“unknown” · 1212 Chelsea Rd · SSO · 37,050 gallons report · noticeended
to 6:40 PMChurch Creek, Bush River · 208 Golden Eagle Way · SSO · 1,600 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 5:00 PMWater not mapped · Blumesberry Ave & Seneca Ave · SSO · 750 gallons report · noticeended
to Nov 10 ’25, 11:25 PMBynum Run · 1301 N. Fountain Green Rd · SSO · 4,175 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 1:00 PMLittle Gunpowder Falls · 1000 Joppa Farm Road · SSO · 3,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 11:15 AMBynum Run · 1515 Melrose Lane adjacent Property · SSO · 760 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 8:15 AM“Storm drain and ground” · 1475 Harford Square Drive · SSO · 800 gallons report · noticeended
to 11:00 PM“storm drain @ Lafayette/Concord and Alliance/Young” · 105 Lafayette St · SSO · 1,500 gallons report · noticeended
to 1:05 PM“Reached stormdrain system, percolated into the ground, partially picked up by pumper trucks” · 1012 Magnolia Road · SSO · 5,565 gallons report · noticeended
to 12:15 PM“reached storm drain system - drainage ditch - Gashy's Creek” · 2110 Pulaski HWY · SSO · 120 gallons report · noticeended
to 5:00 PM“storm drain” · 823-825 Otsego St · SSO · 2,600 gallons report · noticeended
to 3:00 PMBush River · 1212 Chelsea Road · Bypass · 3 million gallons report · notice · mapended
to 1:41 AM“none” · 1212 Chelsea Road · Bypass · 0 gallons report · noticeended
to 9:55 AMBush River · 128 King James Circle · SSO · 2,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 5:00 PM“storm drain” · SSO · 0 gallons report · noticeended
to 7:52 AM“Storm drain that is a tributary of Winters Run.” · 2201 Roth Rd · SSO · 100 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 6:00 PM“condo building, private system” · 6202 Cedar Drive · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Jan 10 ’24, 3:00 AMBush River · 701 Pamela Drive · SSO · 28,500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 8:50 PM“Unknown tributary of Winters Run.” · 1021 Red Pump Rd · SSO · 250 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 8:00 PM“n/a” · 1203 Basil Court · SSO · 800 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 9:00 AM“LAKESIDE POND” · 1012 Magnolia Road · SSO · 4,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jun 7 ’23, 2:00 AM“N/A” · 1021 Red Pump Road · SSO · 500 gallons report · notice · mapended

Sources: MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), retrieved 2026-11-03 08:17 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 28 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in Maryland by year: 2026 (5 from Harford County Department of Public Works (Sod Run WWTP)) · 2025 (9 from Harford County Department of Public Works (Sod Run WWTP)) · 2024 (8 from Harford County Department of Public Works (Sod Run WWTP)) · 2023 (6 from Harford County Department of Public Works (Sod Run WWTP))

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Caution: to
    1 report: Bush River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Bush River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Bush River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Bush River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 08:50 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by Harford County Department of Public Works (Sod Run WWTP), last 12 months6December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by Harford County Department of Public Works (Sod Run WWTP), last 12 months8December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it. Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from Harford County Department of Public Works (Sod Run WWTP)'s reports, last 12 months47December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (Harford County Department of Public Works (Sod Run WWTP))0.9%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

Reported discharges per month

28 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source

No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2022.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source

No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2022. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source

No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2022.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 26 reports that gave a volume as a number (2 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

2 of 28 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 21, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • md-mde-overflows: records from January 4, 2023 to the latest update